We use cookies to track visitor statistics and personalise adverts. This info is shared with Google. Only use the site if you agree to this. OK, I agree

Forestry Memories Image Library

Links | Random Pic | Advanced Search Forestry Memories || Home | Latest Additions | Contributors | Visitors
Forest of Dean  - Group relaxed
Forestry Memories
 View Large Version 
No: 3525   Contributor: Norman Davidson   Year: 1929
Forest of Dean - Group relaxed

Early photograph taken in 1929 from a forestry album of 117 photographs compiled by an unknown Forestry Commission officer. No other information provided.

Subsequent research points to this being the 2nd quinquennial Divisional Officers conference as documented in the Journals of the Forestry Commission. All the attendees are not known but apart from the ten Divisional Officers and Deputy Surveyors, the vice Chairman Roy Lister Robinson, Assistant Commissioner of Scotland John D Sutherland and Assistant Commissioner England and Wales Mr HA Pritchard were in attendance.

This photograph is the same event as depicted in the previous Picture No 3524 but in a more relaxed group. There are some additional people and some missing to that of the formal group

The list below has same numbers as far as possible to the formal group with some known names:

1. ?
2. Mr F Scott (North Scotland, Divisional Officer)
3. ?
4. Missing
5. Mr J M Murray (SE and W Scotland Divisional Officer)
6. Mr J F Annand (NE Scotland Divisional Officer)
7. John Cameron (FC Office Scotland, Estates Officer)
8. ?
9. ?
10. Not identified
11. ?
12. ?
13. ?
14. ?
15. ?
16. Mr H A Pritchard? (Assist Commissioner England and Wales)
17. Roy L Robinson (Vice Chairman Forestry Commission)
18. John D Sutherland (Assit Commissioner Scotland)
19. ?
20. Not identified
A. ?
B. ?
C. ?
D. ?
E. ?
F. ?

The following are known to have been present but so far have not been identified in the line up:

Mr DW Young (Deputy Surveyor Forest of Dean)
Mr L S Osmaston (Deputy Surveyor New Forest)
Mr A D Hopkinson (Division I England Divisional Officer)
Mr O J Sangar (Division 2 England Divisional Officer)
Mr C O Hanson (Division 3 England Divisional Officer)
Mr A L Fenton (Division 4 England Divisional Officer)
Mr A P Long (Division 5 England Divisional Officer)
Mr W H Guillebaud (Forestry Commission Head Research Officer)
Mr Chadwick (Research Officer – May not be in photograph)
In addition there may have been an Estates Officer from England and Wales and someone from Finance Department).

Can any of the above named people be inserted against the blank numbers and letters in the main list?
Picture added on 06 February 2017 at 19:11
This picture is in the following groups
Forestry Areas
Groups of people
Please add your comments about this picture using the form below.


Your Name

Your email address - this will be shown on the page and will allow the system to notify you of further comments added to this picture.

Forestry Areas

RSFS Certificates - Alex GrossertFire Tower – Cardrona ForestJackie Frater and Lachie McCallum Retirement of HGTAC chairmanPlanting Glenrigh ForestTree planting Loch Goil ForestMap of forests in East Scotland ConservancyA12 Paylist Benmore Forest WorkersWrong number in Progress reportSharp Slasher to hand
My Album Admin Login | Advertise on this Site | Terms & Copyright